I saw a man killed today at my job…

 

I hadn’t really had any intentions on writing anything lately.

I mean, don’t get me wrong. There’s been all sorts of stuff I could have posted about. But, I just didn’t want too, to be honest.

I guess I had lost my interest in things here.

But today has been a day that has changed all that.

Let me first start by saying that I really appreciated the job that I have…

It’s a good job for a guy like me.

I’m an ex con with limited skills, and no drivers license.

Yet, this job has given me an opportunity to work hard and prove myself.

I make decent money that I am able to survive on. But there is a down side to this, as well…

It’s a grueling ass busting job at a concrete plant, where you work insane hours under high stress and very dangerous conditions.

To give you an example of what I mean here, just yesterday I worked until from noon until 1am. Then I had to be back at work today at 4am for what was supposed to be about a 16+ hour day.

Well, by the fact that I’m typing this up at 10:55am, I’m sure you can imagine that that wasn’t the case today.

And the reason is because something horrific happened today at work.

It started at about 8:15am…

We were in the middle of a “long pour.”

We were pouring concrete into a form that is about 100 yards long.

It’s a tall form too…

Inside of a huge building with huge bay doors at the end of it.

Through those bay doors we can see out into the yard where everything is moving all the time.

Tons and tons of heavy equipment.

From the top of the form, my crew and I can see everything.

It was there I watched this guy who works on the clean up crew walk by carrying a wheelbarrow outside towards the dumpster.

He was smiling.

Then, the first thing happened.

Our large overhead crane that transports a huge bucket of concrete from the ground to the top of the form for pouring stopped working.

It just stopped and we didn’t know why.

A mad panic broke out because these pours are serious money…

Your talking hundreds of thousands of dollars on the line for a single pour.

Mechanics were called and we were left waiting.

Then a big boss walked by and said that the other overhead crane had caught fire which probably fucked up our crane.

Before anyone could say or do or even think about that, there was a huge commotion from right outside the bay doors.

Everyone started rushing out into the yard saying that someone had just been killed.

From on top of the form my crew and I walked to the end of the form to see what the hell was going on. And it was there that I saw something that absolutely traumatized me…

There, laying on the ground was the guy who worked on the clean up crew, who I had just seen moments earlier.

He was right behind the 6 ft wheel of a giant travel lift.

I couldn’t even make sense of what I was seeing at first…

I didn’t understand what I was looking at…

At first I thought something had fallen from the lift and crushed his head.

It was gruesome.

The worst thing that I had ever seen before.

But then as my brain started to register with what my eyes were seeing, I realized that what I thought was on his head wasn’t anything at all.

It was the wheelbarrow…

Broken at the handles, while the rest of this guy laid on the ground completely crushed.

Somehow one of the giant four wheels of travel lift had caught this guy and ran him completely over.

I started to lose it as did everyone else.

I’m running on two hours of sleep, and I seriously thought I was going to throw up then pass out.

How the fuck did that happen..! I thought.

This guy was just right there..!

This is also something your not going to fully grasp because you didn’t see this for yourself…

But when I asked who that was because I thought it was someone else…

And then they told me…

Again, my brain couldn’t register this.

The guy they told me it was was short…

This guy looked tall.

But then I realized that the crushing weight of the machine probably caused that.

Everything went to hell after that.

When I first walked to the edge of the form to see this horrific tragedy…

It had just happened.

The spotter for the lift was standing right there looking at this guy.

The lift operator was in complete shock.

Then someone went up to the guy laying on the ground and must have realized there was nothing he could do.

He fell apart after that.

The scene was eventually cordoned off, and then the police arrived.

By that point, they were starting to send everyone home.

The plant completely shut down.

The pour we were in the middle of was chalked up as a loss as it very well should have been.

A man lost his life for this company today..!

Employees are seriously affected by this tragedy as I KNOW I am…

I will never get this imagine out of my head.

I’m not sure I’ll overcome the thoughts either…

This could have been anyone…

This could have been me..!

How horrific of a way to go being completely crushed to death..!

When the machine caught him, did he yell..?

Did he scream..?

Did he even have time too..?

In an instant, there was the result of all this.

When I came home, I needed someone to talk too….

So I called my mom and I cried…

Then I decided to walk to 7-11 to get some beer to try and dull these crazy thoughts I’m feeling about all this…

As I was walking, a truck pulled up beside me, and it was a guy from the plant I had seen around but never talked too.

He recognized the company shirt I still had on…

He offered to give me lift and asked if I knew the guy who was killed today and I said I had seen him around a bunch and talked to him on a few occasions. But that I didn’t know him, too well.

He knew the guy pretty well. And he cried too thinking about this crazy accident.

Life can be gone in an instant is what I saw first hand today.

Now I drink a beer for this guy because he, himself, will never get a chance to do so again.

God rest his soul.

Mi-Jack_Travelift_MJ_55_005.jpgThis is sort of like the kind of lift that killed this guy…

Only it was bigger and the operator sits alot higher up.

Here is the news story.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “I saw a man killed today at my job…

  1. Oh my gosh ….thought you hadn’t posted in a while …my heart goes out to you all ….and especially the friends and family of your work mate that so tragically lost his life
    I’m glad the health and safety is going to be inspected at this plant
    I would imagine there’s no Union ….protection of workers rights seem to be a thing of history today
    Glad you called your Mum too ….you can usually rely on them to offer that shoulder when needed.
    I KNOW this must have been extremely traumatic for you BUT I guess if you can hang on to anything it’s what you say at the end of your post …that we never know when life can be over …it can be something unexpected and out of the blue such as this terrible tragedy.
    Try if you can to not let this thought make you fearful …but rather to APPRECIATE every day you have …focus on the little things …just those little moments that help lift the spirits …it doesn’t have to be much …the comraderie with your team mates say ….your bound to feel traumatised by this ….let something positive come from it if you can …today you and your colleagues are ALIVE .
    God bless you guys

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Your words are very kind and heartfelt and much appreciated. I don’t have a lot of people I can talk to, and today was a day where I really needed to talk… I felt this post was me talking to everyone. Also I wanted today to always be remembered for exactly how I felt right after this tragedy… This is something I won’t likely forget and it will serve as a constant reminder, marked as history here on this blog of the immense impact this has had on me. If ever I begin to take life for granted, I can look to this post and be reminded of just how fragile life is. Thank you for your comment and we are all blessed to be alive today.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m very sorry you had to encounter that. It’s hard enough to see someone die, but to have someone die at your job in an accident who was right there a minute before must be awful. Good on you for acknowledging your trauma and expressing it. Peace to you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah yesterday was pretty traumatic. I’ve never seen anything like that before in my life. And now I’m only left with questions… We were so close to the accident. I mean, I was talking to a co worker/friend of mine last night who was just as shaken up by this as I was, and I told him if we weren’t so caught up in watching all the chaos and commotion of dealing with the broken crane and we would have just looked to our left, we would have seen this actually happening..! Then I think to myself “did anyone actually witness this happening?” I mean, how horrific that must have been to watch..! Then I think what about the guy killed..? Did he struggle against the crushing weight..? Did he put up a fight..? In my mind, I think he had to have. Too many sick thoughts flood my mind about this tragedy. I’m not sure how or when things move forward now. I just pray they do somehow and that this guy is in a better place.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Joe …Joe …I can imagine how raw this must be for you right now ….but the ‘what if’s’ are useless and will just drive you crazy
    What if this
    What if that
    It happened ….and from the description of what happened my guess is it will all have happened just as quickly for your workmate ….and maybe there is SOME comfort in that ….that he DID’NT have any prolonged suffering …and like you say …hopefully now his soul rests in peace
    And Joe …although it’s early days and it wouldn’t be normal to feel nothing …maybe some PTS counselling could be helpful ….really I feel your employers should be offering that to you guys but I bet they’re not….in which case it’s a matter of supporting each other if possible …yet again I say God bless you
    Try not to be fearful

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you for your condolences in this matter. This has taught me a valuable lesson and that is that life is not to be taken for granted. Not even for a single second. Because in that second, everything can be gone. I now am filled once again with a purpose to refuel my motivation to press forward with my dreams of art and success through my own personal endeavors… I return to work again tomorrow to the unknown of what that is going to be like. I’m sure it will not be easy, but it is what I must do. I feel returning to work is the best thing for me at this point. Just to face this tragedy head on… I know that seeing the exact spot where this guy just laid a day ago is going to fuck with me. But I have to accept that and move forward… Your advice is well received and appreciated… I am returning to blogging too. I have missed that.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m so sorry. Hang in there. I’m no stranger to such trauma, seen more than one person killed in my life. You just keep doing the next right thing, and it becomes a part of you, a part of who you are. That doesn’t have to be a bad thing. I am sorry for this dreadful accident, but glad you haven’t been alone with it. It sounds like you’ve got good supports. I do hope we hear how are coping, you’ve got friends here you’ve never met. But do whatever is right for you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

