An Ex Con GARNISHED and EXTORTED..!

As an ex con trying to rebuild and reestablish his life in the free world, for every step I try to take in the right direction…

It seems something always happens that tries to push me further towards the wrong direction.

And after you read this, you’ll understand better when I say, “it’s almost like they want me to fail and go back to prison…”

Who is ” they..” You might wonder.

The system.

So here is the deal…

I’ve been working my day laborer job, trying to work as much as possible in an effort to get out from under the drowning debt I have in bills.

Well, yesterday I work all day. And when I go to pick up my check which should have been a little over 50 bucks…

Guess how much it ended up being..?

26 dollars..!

What the fuck..?! I said.

Where’s the rest of my check at..? I asked.

Turns out that money was taken for garnished wages due to outstanding court fines, and a processing fee the temp service is allowed to tack on in addition to that garnishment..!

This totaled OVER  50 % of my income yesterday..!!

So if I already couldn’t survive on 200 dollars a week, then there CERTAINLY is no way I’m going to be able to survive on less than that..!!

This is really fucked up..!

I mean, yes, I owe a shit ton in court fines that I must pay if I ever hope to see a drivers license again. But we’re talking around 15,000 dollars..!

I’ve been out of prison now for 4 months now after 7 years in..!

I’ve got no real job training or experience…

No license or trade…

Because of that, I don’t make shit and I haven’t been able to find a decent job, yet.

So I haven’t really yet been in a position to even THINK about paying on any of that yet…

What I do know is that these court fines and this EXTORTION of my wages are going to make it really hard to live off of 26 dollars a day.

How the hell can I expect to pay any bills with that..!?

Where do the courts AND the temp service get off taking over 5o % of my pay..?!

Hell, I’m already making these people a KILLING..! And then they’re gonna add on a processing fee for the garnishments..!

AND the processing fee is higher than the damn garnishment..!

That is total bullshit..!

I like to think I’m out here doing as much as I can in an effort to get my life back on track.

But every time I turn around it’s something else.!

Check out this day labor pay check…

IMG_1465.JPG

That “Misc deduction” is the actually FEE the temp service TOOK for processing the garnishment..!

Here is my check before deductions…

IMG_1466.JPG

And here it is after.

IMG_1467.JPG

 

I’m going to shoot an Episode of The After Prison Show today about all of this, as well.

And it’s not going to be negative, either..

Aside from this crazy garnishment shit costing me more than half of my total earnings yesterday…

I do have quite a bit of good stuff going on regardless of all that.

Like the prospect of A REAL JOB..!

And a good one, too.

Oh, and today I’m going to give the bingo hall and preschool a bid for some mural work. I’ve got a meeting today at 6 PM for that.

Also, there are a few Paint Nite with Joe developments to mention, as well…!

So look updates to all of that coming in the near future…

And until then, how bout a laugh to stop the tears…

Help me out here…

I need a caption idea for this cartoon….

What do you think this guy should be saying to me after I see just how little my check is after all this garnishment extortion…

IMG_1471.JPG

Whelp, that’s about all I got for now.

Hope all of you have an awesome Tuesday and make the most of it.

I have no choice but to do exactly that, myself.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “An Ex Con GARNISHED and EXTORTED..!

  1. What the heck is a ‘garnishment’!!!? ……it’s insane …..and good luck with the mural work, paint nights with Joe etc …..it’s bloody HARD making ends meet at the best of times never mind after spending 7 years in prison ….keep that positive spirit Joe ….you’ll crack it in the end …4 months is nothing in the grand scheme of things …your ALREADY showing promise sticking with the crappy jobs AND utilising your creative side ….your still young ….the best thing you can do to ‘stick it to the system’ is to make it ….
    then write about stuff like THIS which would have made it all the more easy to end up back inside …REALLY wishing you well:)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I always thought ‘garnish’ was a nicely presented bit of extra salad on the edge of your plate …kind of decoration for your dinner
    It’s topsy turvey
    It should be you getting the ‘garnishment’ for trying ….not getting it whipped off your plate and 1/2 your dinner along with it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

