The perfect job for a felon with no job skills, training, or transportation.

There is always a story when it comes to the daily adventures of Joe.

I don’t mean to speak of myself in third person.

But there really is no other way to put it…

OK.

Well, maybe there is another way to put it.

Hell, maybe there are a hundred other ways to put it.

But that’s what we’re going with here..!

So…

Yesterday I’m given some work through the temp service and it’s not the normal construction laborer…

Or flagging work.

Or banquet serving.

Or laundry gig.

Nope.

This time it’s holding a sign up on the side of the road for a bingo hall.

I was offered this job before, and I turned it down.

I won’t lie.

My pride wouldn’t let me do this at first.

All I could think about is those people who have to get dressed up and dance their little jig while holding up a sign for the tax places…

I really did not want to do this job.

But desperate times call for desperate measures…

And yesterday I found myself in an Uber on my way to this job.

Spent $20.00 just to get there, too.

But got there I did. And the first thing I noticed when I arrived…

Murals.

IMG_1439

IMG_1440

 

There were murals painted on the side of the building…

2 of them.

I walked inside, spoke with the woman. She pointed the sign out to me and I was out to the street to walk around holding up a sign.

The first thought that went through my mind…

This has got to be what it feels like to be homeless and holding a sign up on the side of the road.

It was pretty humiliating, at first.

Then I thought, “I wonder if I’d make more money just holding up a sign that said homeless.”

After awhile, the humiliating feeling started to fade as I started thinking about other things…

Like how I could incorporate some murals at this bingo hall to help advertise…

Then I started looking at places on the building where I could do some murals.

IMG_1443

IMG_1444

Then I started thinking about when I went to take my break, how I was going to go in there, find the guy in charge, and pitch him on some work.

Then I started thinking about “mopeds…”

Yep.

Mopeds.

Little 50cc scooters that are street legal and you don’t need a license for…

I need a moped.

And here is why…

  1. I will never see a license unless I find more/better work, where I can make more money to begin paying off my court fines.
  2. I won’t find that more/better work unless I have transportation to and from work.
  3. I could be more mobile and less reliant on individuals.
  4. I could even go out and sell mural work and paint parties to other venues… Getting there when I need to… And getting where I need to go… Self sufficiently.
  5. I could save the “ton” of money that I’m spending in Ubers and rides… In two days, I’ve spent $50.00 in rides… That’s a tenth of what a moped is going to cost me.

 

 

So, yep… I need a moped.

I thought all of this through thoroughly while standing on the side of the road yesterday…

It’s crazy the stuff you think about while standing on the side of the road in a humiliating manner. Almost anything just to keep your mind off of what it is that your doing.

By the way…

I’m going to need some help trying to get this moped too.

So you know…

I was thinking of a crowd funding campaign.

Maybe like if I could get EVERYONE to invest like FIVE DOLLARS into Joe’s Moped Mobility Fund…

Sounds like this thing is coming together already..!

OK.

Just throwing that out there…

So, the day continued. And at 2 PM, I took my break.

And just like I envisioned, I went inside, found who I needed to find…

THE OWNER of the bingo hall..!

I introduced myself as “Joe,” the guy outside holding the sign up. And I said I’m also an artist who specializes in mural painting.

He was very interested in this and there seems to be a good chance that I might actually be able to line up some mural work at this place.

Oh, and not to mention…

PAINT NITE WITH JOE EVENTS..!

I talked to him about those, too. And he seemed very interested in that, as well.

And what a location this venue would be for those…

He can probably seat 500 people here..!

Just I have no idea what he is going to want as far as money goes to rent this place for those events…

IMG_1446

IMG_1445

It’s a really nice location.

We’ll see what happens.

I have to put together some ideas and meet with him next week.

There is a good chance this could turn out to be my first mural job in the free world.

All because I decided to swallow my pride and do whatever I must to get by right now…

Well, I say do whatever I must…

But I’m not too sure about all that entirely.

I mean, and this is going to sound wAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAy out of left field…

But I found this guy on craigslist yesterday who wants to buy my dirty underwear.

How’s that for an ending leaving you wanting more..?

Or, maybe way less.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “The perfect job for a felon with no job skills, training, or transportation.

  1. Awesome, Joe! Creative thinking at it’s best. It’s rare one can be creative while fighting back into life.

    I have a friend who just got out of jail after an 9mo stint for habitual motor offender. He’s looking for a job now and transportation is a huge issue for the same reasons you mention. He can’t even apply for a license for 8 years even with his fines paid.

    I’m going to pass along your moped idea to him.

    Now here is something to make you smile:

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great thinking. No work is beneath us. Money is money. Everyone has to work crap jobs to reach their dream profession. Hope you reach a mural gig out of this. It’s not ideal but u can even barter. If they supply the materials, paint for free if you could include your info on the wall, advertising. Or in trade let you host a paint night there. So he gets a chance to see paint night and then possibility invest in you hire you to host regular events. Sometimes you have to invest in your self to build awareness.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I like your thinking a lot. But more so I’m hoping to sell this business owner on some real work for a profit because so bad I need the money right now. Still regardless what comes from it I hope it’s something because today was a big fat zero.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

