Joe gets recognition from an elected official and a lot more…

Yesterday I had to attend a luncheon for ex prisoners coming home after prison and who are trying to get their lives together…

The event was hosted by Angela Murphy…

The power house re entry woman I have spoke about in previous posts.

This chick is amazing and yesterday was an awesome event…!

I got to speak with her on camera and sh talked about some of the awesome things she is doing to help individuals who are transitioning back into society after prison…

Then she introduced me to Will Moffett an elected city council man in Hampton Virginia…

Just wait til you see what happened then when I spoke with him of the AWESOME things I’m trying to do with After Prison..!

I also met a woman named Lisa Temple who works at a local college and has her own marketing company…

This woman is a serious resource I would love to be able to utilize and she takes the time to meet with and work with ex prisoners who are trying to “brand” something…

What an amazing woman.

I mean, her services are not cheap I’m sure…

Yet she takes the time and patience to meet people who are returning to society  after prison and she helps them market their ventures….

The luncheon was an awesome event..!

We were able to film quite a bit of it…

We networked with some people who could really be instrumental in helping us to get After Prison off the ground…

And we got a chance to speak with Megan Mann who was also there…

She is another awesome chick I’ve mentioned previously here and she is just coming home after being incarcerated herself…

I’ll be doing an on camera interview with her on Wednesday ( I hope…) and you will get to hear this womans amazing story of what her transition has been like…

After all this with the luncheon yesterday…

I then had to race over to the banquet job where I was not only working another event…

I was also in charge of making sure those who were there from the temp service were actually… “there.”

Meaning I was the on site rep from the temp service…

You know that big fancy office job I now have…

reclining-hispanic-executive-office-view-skyline-19635673

Yep, thats giving me a little more authority.

And I love it too..!

This temp service is really giving me a chance to prove myself and to prove that I can handle a job with quite a bit of responsibility.

So…

I raced over to another banquet after the luncheon yesterday…

Got everyone checked in…

Made sure we had the 30 people we needed there…

Conferred with the GM’s and the big bosses…

And then once I was done with that…

It was back to playing my temp worker server role.

The banquet was a success.

Nothing too exciting to mention with that…

And tomorrow its back to the office job grind…

Check out the videos from the luncheon yesterday… and my speech too…

Luncheon video and councilman Moffett.

Lisa Temple and banquet plus Megan Mann.

Joes speech.

Also, real quick…

I’m going to tell you why I really need some help from santa this year…

The picture here is of a fully decked out lavalier  and shotgun microphone set up for filming…

51aLScYdX4L._AC_UL160_SR160,160_

This kit is 200 bucks and I’m hoping there are some After Prison believers out there who would be willing to donate to the gofundme.com/afterprison  campaign page to help us acquire this set up…

Unfortunately, the funds we have raised thus far have been exhausted…

Those funds went to my cameraman in terms of an hourly wage I pay him for his time and services…

As of late, I have been paying him out of my own pocket. Which I don’t mind…

Though can’t really afford.

But dreams are achieved through sacrifice…

And I don’t mind making the necessary sacrifices to turn my dreams into a reality.

This microphone setup is very important and will enhance our sound quality tremendously…

Hearing what is being said is imperative to the sort of video we are shooting…

Individuals coming home after prison have a story to tell and I want to make sure you hear that story clearly.

Again, please visit gofundme.com/afterprison, and consider a contribution to our endeavor.

Thank you.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Joe gets recognition from an elected official and a lot more…

  1. Wow, speechless. Very powerful and tear jerking. It’s so rewarding and exciting as a spectator across the screen I can only imagine how bursting with pride you are. I have to be careful watching your videos. Makes me want to walk into work and quit my 9-5 and pursue my creative dreams.

    Like

  2. Very awesome!!!!!! You’re getting recognized!!! And I ended up having to listen to your speech while I was doing my makeup. Lol. Very inspirational. I learned a few things i didn’t know about you since I started following you. As always, I love your determination. I kept nodding like “yup, yup, and yup” 😁 you are an amazing person inside and out, Joe. I really do hope you make it!!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for taking the time to check out the speech I gave… It’s means a lot to me that you liked it… To be honest I didn’t really have much prepared in terms of material… I just spoke from the heart and it just flowed easily as all of that was the philosophy I live my life by everyday.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

