A GRIPPING TALE OF LIFE AND DEATH

I woke up this morning sick and barely clinging to life.

At least that is what it felt like.

But it wasn’t even being deathly ill that was on my mind first thing this morning when I woke up…

What WAS on my mind was the fact that my iphone…

My LIFE-LINE to all daily undertakings- was what appeared to be-

“Dead.”

My iphone is a hand-me down iphone…

It may have suffered a little wear and tear before winding up in my hands…

But since winding up in MY hands…

I have taken this phone to the brink of EXPLODING Everyday…

I probably run through more data on a daily basis than any number of government agencies…lol

With multiple apps and pages open 24/7 the only time I take my foot off of the gas-pedal is when I’m sleeping…

And as you might imagine…

I don’t sleep very often.

So when I woke up this morning, the first thing I did, as is what I do EVERY morning when I wake up, is I went and tried to see my notifications…

I usually wake up with about 50 notifications…

This morning, I woke up with zero…

And a black screen with a battery image flashing…

OK, I thought.

No big deal…

The battery on my iphone last a shorter amount of time than an old mans blatter…

So this wasn’t alarm raising by any stretch.

What was alarm raising though…

Was the fact that when I went and plugged my phone in…

It refused to charge.

I literally believe that I heard my phone subconsciously screaming at me…

Somethings about ” OH WHY WOULDN’T I JUST LET IT DIE IN PEACE ALREADY..!!! ”

Maybe I was just hearing things…

Panic quickly set in, as today, like any other day, was a HUGE day…

And I was going to need that phone in a MAJOR way…!

Without it…

I was…

Quickly I took decisive action..!

I began fiddling with the power cord.

Plugging the phone in…

Unplugging it…

The battery image just continued to flash…

What the hell was going on with this thing, I thought in a panicky state.

Then the one sided conversations began…

I cradled the phone in my gingerly hands and began  whispering to the phone…

“Hey…”

“Don’t do this to me OK..?”

“You’re all I’ve got in this world…”

PLEASE…!!!!”

Grief stricken, and in a manic state, I did what any sane minded able bodied man would do…

I tilted back the head of my iphone blocked air passage through the nasal cavity and began chest compression’s…

One.

Two.

Three.

Four.

Five.

Six.

Breath…

“YOUR NOT GOING TO FUCKING DIE ON ME…!” I screamed.

“NOT TODAY, YOU’RE NOT..!!” My bellowing continued.

After a short round of CPR, I realized my efforts may have all been in vain…

In all likelihood my iphone 4 had probably overdosed late into the night while I slept…

Overdosed on data…

There probably was just too much shit…

Too much DATA coursing through the veins of my poor little hand-me down phone…

And there wasn’t a damn thing I could do now to save it.

I started punching myself and blaming myself…

Grief stricken.

I never paid attention to the signs…

The times when the screen would just black out and kick me out of every open window, sending me back to the home screen…

Or even worse…

Cutting off altogether….

The times when the battery would be so HOT that I thought surely the phone was about to bust into flames at any moment…

Why the hell did I NOT pick up on these signs..!?!

I let this happen.

I could have prevented this…

tumblr_m035967kDC1qgzbrvo1_400

It was over for me.

My cell phone was gone and it was ALL my fault.

All of my life’s work temporary put on pause and held up until I could find a way to replace that major artery that pumps life sustaining fluid into all of what I do on a daily basis.

So many questions began to flood my mind…

The “hows..”

The “whys…”

I couldn’t think straight.

I couldn’t function…

Then just as I was ready to abandon all hope, entirely…

The damn thing came to life…!

It turned ON..!

Holy shit..! I thought.

My iphone had somehow resurrected itself from the dead..!

It was back..!

The home screen was right there..!

There were 50 notifications..!

Hope for humanity was not lost after all..!

And that’s it…

That’s the story of what I JUST woke up to and had to deal with.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “A GRIPPING TALE OF LIFE AND DEATH

  1. It’s crazy how we’ve lost touch with the “real” world to where our virtual world means so much that it’s the first thing on our mind when we wake up and the last thing we’re on before going to sleep…crazy!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey Joe! My son had the same experience as you on his iPhone 4s some time ago … He just bought a new battery for it & the problem was solved. Way better than buying a new phone! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow! I’m glad it came back to life! You know, perhaps this will sound strange to you but I don’t have a smart phone. I have an old cel phone that’s only good for texting and making calls, and that’s about it. I decided not to get a smart phone in order to keep my sanity, but does that sound crazy?

    Like

Leave a Reply

