5 Things most important for an ex con to have success in the free world after prison…

What follows are 5 things that I personally think are most important for guys like me…

Ex cons…

Getting out of prison and hoping to stay out.

These 5 things sort of have to be followed to a “T” if we’re to stand any real chance of “surviving out here…

I mean, it really, literally,  is hard out here for a pimp.

Like literally.

I mean, for guys like me, it’s reaaaallllll easy to end up right back on the inside, behind concrete walls and razor wire fences…

So because of that, I decided it must be up to me to devise a plan of action for not only everyone else…

BUT FOR ME, AS WELL..!

These are 5 things most important for ex cons to remain free and hopefully live their version of the American dream…

Also, I’ll post these in order leading up to what I think is THE most important of these already very important things…

Let’s begin.

“5 things most important for an ex con to have success in the free world after prison..”

5) Surround yourself with positive people… This sounds simple enough. But I promise you, this is such a crucial element to the structure of guys like me trying to restructure our lives… Negative people who pose a bad influence in our lives can only hinder our efforts or even worse… Possibly getting us “jammed up”, for example… You can’t even begin to imagine how many guys, me included have said… “man, if it weren’t for such and such…” Positive people can be the only sort of people we allow into our lives after incarceration if change is what we are really seeking. Because allowing any other type of person or people into our lives is only asking for trouble…

4)Employment… This is soooo important..! We have got to find and maintain employment after prison. If not, this is a sure recipe for disaster… Money gets low, thoughts of our old ways and easy money making schemes start crowding the thoughts in our minds… We begin to justify this, saying that it’s the only alternative… NOT GOOD..! All of this can be avoided by finding work and doing whatever we have to to maintain that… Says the guy who just lost his job due to a ride situation..! But of course there will be things beyond our control… It’s like Murphys’ law. Or something. In spite of that even… We have to keep on keeping on like a few friends have told me recently… It really is the only way. Find a job. Any job… If that job sucks. Well, find another job… Work two jobs even… Employment is THAT important…! Otherwise, its back to the big house eventually…

3)Avoid/ and/or/cope with- stressful triggers… This ranks middle of the road as far as importance goes… Why..? Well, because stressful triggers are those little things that can really “fuck the pooch.” Metaphorically speaking, that is. I mean, it goes like this… For guys like me… ESPECIALLY LIKE ME… We’re sort of like loose cannons, a bit. And stressful triggers could really be the huckleberry that ultimately does us in… I can think back to, oh, I don’t know… a THOUSAND things that have happened just in this MONTH that I’ve been home for now that have had me REALLY ready to loose my mind… But even with that, somehow, you’ve just GOT to be able to COPE with whatever it is. Yet, still… There will be always be stressers in some form or fashion…. Take for example my girlfriend leaving me… Oh the stressful little trigger that has become…. Still, you- “I”-have to cope with whatever we’re faced with… So, what is the solution to all this..? Well, I don’t really think that there is one… I mean, I could say to just “avoid” stressful triggers… But how the HELL can anyone REALLY do that..!?! Stress comes from any and everywhere… You never know when it’s going to latch it’s burden to your back and try it’s best to horse-collar tackle you… The best I can say… just face whatever you must, whenever you must- head on…Head high.

2)Maintain sobriety at all cost… For me this one is super important because I get addicted to shit really quick… Fuck, I’m addicted to junk food right now… Shit is serious for me..!Since being released for a month now… I have yet to have a single drink, drug, or cigarette… A small feat that I diligently work towards maintaining, daily… Sobriety is such a big part of us staying out of prison, too. I mean, that’s pretty obvious, too. If you ask me…. Indulging really gets us no where no matter if it’s even just a cigarette… Think of all the money that we put into our addictions… So much we could do with that money… Hell, if I had back all the money I spent during my days of addiction… I’d probably be a millionaire..! OK. Well, not REALLY. But you get the idea… When we don’t take sobriety serious… We slack… And when we do that, we slip… And when we do that, we eventually fall… I, for one, am not trying to fall.

1)Never give up… Why is this number 1..? Well, because even if you fuck up any of the things on this list, within reason, of course… This is the one thing that can help- you bounce back… To rebound… Never give up… Never give up what..? “HOPE,” “TRYING,” STRIVING,” BEING DILIGENT IN YOUR PURSUITS.” If you never give up, you can never fail… Because you will always still be trying… Pretty good logic, right..? That’s me, too… Right now… Never giving up… I didn’t give up on Dec 20, 2008 when I first got arrested and KNEW because of what they caught me with… Cocaine and a firearm… That I would be gone for what was going to seem like forever… Though I really REALLY wanted to give up then… I didn’t… I had “hope” that I would be strong enough to keep trying, and “hope” that I would find something worth striving for… Even while in prison for so long… Low and behold that’s how Joewriteshiswrongs was born… Point is we must never give up. No matter what… No matter how bad it seems or how impossible the odds seem…We have to always try… Because what gets done if we don’t..? images (1)

Those are the 5 things I feel are most important to staying on the straight and narrow after incarceration, and why…

Hope you enjoyed… ‘

And I’d love to hear what you think. So please, let me know.

9 thoughts on “5 Things most important for an ex con to have success in the free world after prison…

  1. I totally agree with all 5. It’s already going to be an adjustment enough considering being locked away from it all by law and not doing it by choice are far different. Everyone needs a motivation to get out and stay out. It’s kind of crazy because I’ve been pretty much telling myself these 5 things in order to help my loved one all along! Patience is another one. I guess it could fall under “never give up”. Kudos. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

