6000 NON VIOLENT OFFENDERS BEING RELEASED..!

Well, I’ll be damned…

I know I’m a little late getting to the party on this one, but this is a HUGE thing in relation to ME..!

I mean, I was ONE of these offenders who this early release of non violent drug offenders movement would or could have applied too…

Unfortunately for me though…

I just had to serve 6 years, 10 months of a 7 and a half year prison sentence for non violent drug and weapons offenses because of “mandatory minimun” sentencing guidelines.

Those guidelines made my sentencing requirements not really fit for my crimes…

THEY WERE TOO HIGH..!

Funny thing, I remember how when all of this incarceration began for me and I was going to court, my lawyer told me that it was screwed up how I was about to RAILROADED in the courtroom…

My lawyer told me that my original sentencing guidelines only required me to serve a HIGH of 5 years 8 months…

Now usually, the judge will sentence around the mid range of the sentencing guidelines useless there are extreme circumstances that make the judge feel he needs to go outside of that.

So potentially, I could have served, oh, I don’t know…

Maybe something like 4 and a half years.

But those damn mandatory minimums( More on mandatory minimums here. )

So yeah, even the prosecutor AND the judge BOTH agreed during my sentencing that my case was just one of those unfortunate cases that fell into a category of unfit sentencing requirements…

Which also is part of the leading causes of prison over crowding…

Check out FAMM… “Families Against Mandatory Minimums” for more on that.

Well, now as the federal justice system is releasing 6000 non violent offenders, a move that is already tickling down to the state level…

I think to myself, “man…”

Why couldn’t this have happened 2 years ago..?

But, oh well.

It might not have helped me in any way, but I’m sure it’s going to help quite a few others who were just like me…

Sentenced to a prison term that was extreme in relation to their offenses…

Even though I didn’t reap any benefit from this reform or mass release, I’m still happy for those who it does apply to and hope that they take full advantage of this new lease on life that they’ve been granted.

Just as I am trying to do myself.

For more on this mass release, check out this article.

5 thoughts on “6000 NON VIOLENT OFFENDERS BEING RELEASED..!

  1. Hey Joe, I really believe that you were released in the right season for you to make an impact as you are doing now….. Maybe, a different term would have resulted in a different Joe?……
    There is a right time for everything, and everything on earth will happen at the right time……Ecclesiastes 3:1
    God Bless

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

