Today I hope to find a job…

  

 So yesterday made 2 weeks that I’ve been home from prison.

Figured yesterday would also be a good day to start looking for a job…

I started out by going to a temp staffing agency. But they were only looking for people who could get a security clearance for a ship yard that I know very well…

I also know that this specific ship yard DOESNT let felons in. So… 

Pretty much how that went.

But, I wasn’t phased by that.

 I know it’s going to take extra hard work and determination on my part to really make it out here.

The only way I can make it out though… 

Starts with employment.

So after that first attempt, I got on Craigslist and started looking for work there…

Didn’t really see much.

So next, I started looking up other temp agencies and the making phone calls…

It was a little overwhelming making those calls. I mean, I’ve really been out of the loop for a long time now.

But, still…

I just went ahead and started calling.

Embracing the anxiety and dealing with every time I stumbled on the phone while talking with someone.

Well…

I called like 4 different temp agencies and out of those four…

2 sounded promising.

Today I have to go talk with them and fill out applications.

Also, something else…

Where I live…

Well, that’s worth a blog in itself. But I won’t switch gears to that right now…

I mention where I live only because there is a ton of marine industries within walking distance.

One of which is a fish packing house which I also called yesterday and was told to come by today and talk with them.

So with all that, I’m confident I can find work and hopefully soon, too. Because a job for me is basically like the difference between…

  

 

2 thoughts on “Today I hope to find a job…

  1. Hello, my husband works for Goodwill training ex-convicts in IT.
    That is a California program Goodwill has- not sure what state you’re in- but you can try reaching out to the program director at your local Goodwill branch. You can find their name listed in the local branch’s website. It is important you try to contact that person and not HR. Tell them your story before you solicit work. Tell them you have a WP blog and how many subscribers you have, and that you are chronicling the interaction on the blog.

    I understand Walmart has these types of work rehab programs as well. In California, Goodwill has 3- two for civilian-ex-convicts and 1 specifically for veteran-ex-convicts.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

