Job hunt update, plus probation…

Ok…

So here is an update on how my first day of job hunting went…

Not good.

Well, so, I went and filled out only one application in person.

Basically, I was just walking down the street near where I live and also where there are a ton of marine industries and I was looking for this one place in particular…

But on the way there, I passed by this other place…

A fish packing company…

And they were on break so there were a bunch of guys just sitting around.

I walked up and started talking with one of the guys .

I asked him what kind of work they did, and he told me..

“Fish packing…”

I asked what kind of money they made and if he thought they might be hiring…

He said “shit,” for money…

And that I should just go in and fill out an application.

So I did.

I went in and damn near had a PANIC ATTACK due to lack of exposure for so many years..!

But I filled out the application none the less…

Expressing that I had no prior job experience for the last 7 years due to the fact I was incarcerated…

So because of that, and when it came to the desired salary…

I put that big ol’ $8.00/hour.

Hey, if I do somehow get the job, its a start right..?

After that traumatic little experience, I walked to a marine lumber yard that was also in the area.

I talked with the owner…

But they weren’t hiring. He told me I could keep checking back with him, though.

That pretty much wrapped up the extent of my “in person” job hunting adventures for the day…

I didnt make it to the temp agencies that I wanted too.

But I did get some exposure to what its like to be back out in the world and talking to people about jobs.

I did also check into Craigslist list and emailed a couple of job opportunities there as well.

So that was it on the job hunt.

I guess not too bad for the first day.

Then I had to go to my probation to start a class.

yay..!

So I go to this class, and I actually was looking forward to it because I knew there, I would be around others who were just like me…

Coming out of prison, and trying to get their lives together.

So maybe there I would find some work leads…

And thanks to these two awesome chicks there, I did..!

The class started, and it was ummmm….

Well, it was kind of boring.

Actually, it was REALLY boring..!!

I mean, I felt like…

bored

Yeah, that about describes this class pretty well.

Still, I took advantage of the opportunity to talk with Janet and Megan…

Two awesome chicks in a simular situation as mine…

Getting out after incarceration and trying to get their lives on track, too.

Both of which provided me some really great information that I hope to put to use tomorrow.

So, we’ll see what happens then.

Oh yeah…

And one last little tidbit to add about this class I had to go to tonight…

I learned NEVER to participate or answer any of the questions they ask in it…

Because as soon as you do, its sorta like…

PolygraphUK

The hell with that…

I’ll just sit back and listen next time.

2 thoughts on “Job hunt update, plus probation…

  1. Hey Joe, I have been enjoying your articles and want to thank you for sharing – what can only be described as – your difficult position.

    I know you don’t need random advice coming in off the internet but I have to share my thoughts as I read this post.

    It has been my experience that a resume has very little to do with landing a “foot in the door” job. Most employers tend to go with their gut and the best thing you can do is to remain confident and do like the man said “check back later” and I would add to that; “check back later”,”check back later”,”check back later”,”check back later” – the time is going to come when the guy is going to need to fill a position and his gut is going to tell him to go for the familiar face.

    Wishing you all the best, citizen!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

