Home only 5 days… and suffering from addiction already…

wpid-article-2175674-141dd2b7000005dc-350_233x362.jpgWell, its official. I hate to be the bearer of bad news…

But I have to confess something…

I am suffering from some pretty bad addiction issues already…

I never could have imagined things could be this intense…

This deep for me already…

I’m invested heavily in this addiction after only 5 or so days out here in the free world.

And I can’t stop either.

I’m impulsive.

Convulsive…

Overcome by this completely.

And what is it..?

It’s my damn phone…

It’s got me by the balls.

It’s Facebook…

Twitter…

WordPress…

All of these little social media instant communicators and gratify-ers…

I need help..!

When I first was released, I was shocked by just how much the world had changed in the 7 years I had been vanished from it.

Everyone walked around like in a trance…

Like possessed by some sort of demon or spell cast by their own little individual smart devices…

I couldn’t believe what I was seeing…

The world seemed overtaken by zombies…

No one talked.

They only tapped and swiped…

Well, as is the case with most zombie outbreaks…

It didn’t take long for me to become infected myself…

Now I am an addict just as much of the world is.

I can’t stop.

And in all actuality, I probably won’t stop either.

And I can’t seem to get anything done because of this.

For a guy with a mild case of adult attention deficit disorder, this does not help me in my constant struggle to stay focused…

What the hell am I going to do..?

And how am I ever to stay focused on anything with the constant bells and whistles, reminders and vibrations going off every 10 seconds letting me know I’ve got a new like or comment. Or theres a new viral video sensation that I just have to check out…

And Guess what..?

THE DAMN PHONE IS RIGHT, TOO..!!

I have to know these things.

I have to see these stats and videos everytime a new one is posted.

Smart technology has implanted a micro sd card in my brain…

At least thats how I feel.

And now after only 5 or so days free, and after 7 long and excruciating years incarcerated, I have fallen in place just as the creators of all this technology have set out for me to do, along with the rest of the world.

Comfort comes from knowing that I am not the only addict.

Most all of us are all addicts, as well.

Addicted to the same thing.

Its like we’re plugged in…

like in that movie The Matrix…

Thing is though…

I think I might be ready for the “blue pill” already.

9 thoughts on “Home only 5 days… and suffering from addiction already…

  1. Hello Joe,

    SO HAPPY you have your freedom back. Are YOU HEARING ME? SO HAPPY you have your FREEDOM BACK. (I know, I sound like a MOM. LOL)…

    I SO understand what you are going through. I’m addicted to the same, but? I have chosen to be addicted to social media and the internet for two very good reasons.

    I now use them for my Recovery, to help others, share hope in recovery, inform and educate others about gambling, alcohol and other addictions. As you know I blog my recovery journey.

    I also use it for a Home Business. Again, as you know, I promote other authors with a small Book & Social Media Promotions job for extra income. And here is why, which I know you will understand.

    in 2006 I chose to steal from someone. It is all in my book. I was arrested, charged, given 2 years probation and loads of community service. I’m still paying my fees and the little balance left of my restitution to this day. So with having a criminal record, no one would hire me.
    So I had to think outside the box and figure a way to make money from home.

    BAM! Book promoting and authoring more books. I’m not rich yet, but I have made enough to pay our rent. And that feels good. Everything I do on and for my recovery blog helps Keep Me in recovery. 🙂

    So it is OK to be addicted to social media and such, just change your priority of why you need it and use it for good things. We all have a story within us Joe, start telling yours. I’m sure you can help many with sharing it. XOXO I am here to support you 110% my friend!

    Hugs & Blessings,
    Author, Catherine Lyon 🙂 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

