Walking in on a rape

stream_img

Tyler is a young guy here at the prison with me. He is 21 years old. He has been locked up since he was 18. He is what this program considers a youth offender. I have known Tyler throughout the two years I have been at this facility; he is the drummer in the prison band.

I never really knew much about Tyler’s story until the other day. And when he told me all about his background and why he’s locked up I was blown away. So much so that I have to tell you all about it.

Tyler represents everything that is right with the world and his story represents everything that is wrong with the judicial system here in America.

Here is his story…

From the age of 15 Tyler told me how he had been involved in the medical field. EMT work to be specific. Maybe when he was that young he did some volunteer work or maybe he had some family connections that allowed him to be involved in that sort of thing so young. Whatever the case is, that’s what he told me.

Then he said at the age of 18 he joined the Army. When I asked if he was like “Saving Private Ryan” he said “ No”.

“More like Ashton Kutcher in the Guardian” he responded. “Only like the army version of that.”

When I asked if he saw any action, he said “not really”.

“Mostly only training” he said.

He did say he was involved in one rescue action overseas, but I don’t remember what all he said about that.

Tyler told me that he came home from somewhere and he went to a party.

At this party he said he got drunk.

Really drunk.

Then he said he walked in to a room where he saw his best friend which was this girl he had grown up with since they were kids.

She was passed out on the bed and this guy was all over her trying to take her pants off.

Immediately Tyler said he lost it.

Now before I finish this story I want you to consider this…

What if this was you?

You’re at a party, drunk, having a good time, and all of a sudden you see a girl you grew up with passed out and some guy all over her potentially about to rape her…

What would you do in that exact moment?

What do you think Tyler did…?

Comment now and voice your opinion… And check back later today to find out what happens next.

4 thoughts on “Walking in on a rape

  1. I would hope that my conscious would overcome my drunkenness and I would stop the guy, whatever it took, but I can’t say for certain because I don’t drink and I am a woman and really don’t understand how guys think! so, I am anxious to continue reading this…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My guess is that he beat his ass and was charged with assault and battery (or manslaughter if he killed him) because the prosecutor said that he should have just called the police rather than “take the law into his own hands”. That’s my guess, since you said right with the world but wrong with the judicial system.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

