Actions speak louder than words

tumblr_inline_mudhh8d0Nz1re7j82

Last week I had mentioned how I was trying to do more than just talk about prisoner rehabilitation. How I feel like I’ve got to do something more. And not just for me, either. But maybe even something that could be helpful to others, too. Others who want to better themselves, just like I want to better myself, too.

Well, I think I found a way to do just that too, a way to put some actions behind these words, so that it’s not just a bunch of talk.

What I’ve come up with is a class that I would like to pitch to the “powers that be” here at this facility. It’s a class I begun putting a lot into already as to what it would be about.

The name of this class we’d call “Work in Progress” and it would be a “think tank” of sorts for guys who are serious about succeeding after prison.

This class would give likeminded individuals an opportunity to network amongst each other and gather resources that could be helpful after their release. It could also be a class that addresses problems and concerns that prisoners might face now as well as potential problems we could face in the future.

As a team, we could troubleshoot solutions to these problems and hopefully come up with multiple options to consider if we’re ever faced with them.

Work in progress is also a class that will focus heavily on finding employment after prison. A lot of what the class will focus on in that regard will come directly from a book that I consider to be one of the greatest books ever… “What color is your parachute?”

The information as well as the exercises included in “What color is your parachute” is and are absolutely priceless! I recommend that everyone read this book if they haven’t yet.

So that’s a little of this idea of mine…

Hopefully, I’m able to get this across to the powers that be by the end of the week.

By the way, a little bit about this prison I’m at…

This Therapeutic Community program prison …

Well one thing about this place, is that they love to give guys here their own classes. If the classes have some sort of positive theme behind them! And that is exactly what this “Work in Progress” class I have in mind is all about.

I’m trying to also guide here, including myself, the kind of help that we as prisoners feel we need and that we feel we’re not getting here.

Hopefully I’m able to do that.

So… what did you do today..?

Me…?

Oh, nothing really.

Just trying to make a crater size positive impact here from prison!

prisonClassroom_AP_111314

4 thoughts on “Actions speak louder than words

Leave a Reply

