Just a lonely prisoner’s view…

TC_Logo

Maybe it’s the fact that four guys who just left this prison I’m at and that I know died from drugs less than 6 months after their release…

Two of which were friends of mine.

Then add to that the countless others who get out only to come right back.

Or, maybe it’s the fact that this prison I’m at doesn’t really have a clue in terms of its methods and ideology of and for prisoner rehabilitation.

The fact that no one here takes this serious…

Not the prisoner population…

Not a whole lot of the staff.

The fact that something more should be being done. Or maybe something completely different all together!

Well, it’s a combination of all these things that has me wanting to at least address my take on the topic of why so many guys get released from prison…

Especially a prison like the one I’m at…

Therapeutic community….

A program prison…

And do not make it for very long out there in society.

Will my take (just a lonely prisoner’s view) of what I feel is wrong here amount to anything in the end?

Probably not.

But if it enlightens and educates those outside of these gates, at least a little, then to me, that is enough.

pop prison, 3/4/13

6 thoughts on “Just a lonely prisoner’s view…

  1. I’m a huge fan of Timber Hawkeye. He wrote the book Buddhist Boot camp. He is on a mission to work with prison’s on helping to reform prisoners. Seriously… Look him up, read the book, or reach out. I’ve had a few conversations with him, and he’s an amazing soul. I went to college for criminal justice, but dropped out when I learned how corrupt our justice system is; how over populated our prisons are; the lack of reform and the revolving door. I wish you all the best, and if there’s a way I can help spread your view, please don’t hesitate to ask.

    ~Kate

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Maybe that is what you should focus on when you get out, bringing this issue to the attention of others so maybe something can be done. Every human being is worth fighting for, worth helping, worth forgiveness, worth everything… you may be a lonely prisoner but you are far more than just that… love and light to you, Joe. Michelle

    Liked by 1 person

      1. It may be just the thing to not only help others but also help you stay focused and free? sounds like a plan to me but since I don’t know you or anything about the whole prison situation … but I do know that having something concrete to focus on can be very helpful when things are uncertain. You could use your writing skills and your art to help spread your message? sounds exciting to me.. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

