The bearer of bad news

A couple of days ago a guy in here asked me for my help. He said he wanted me to try and help try and find his girlfriend on Facebook because he hasn’t heard from her in about 2 weeks.

He said he wasn’t sure what the hell had happen…

How the last phone call they had had was a good one…

No arguing.

No fighting.

Nothing.

The call ended with “I love you” and that was it.

But then the next day when he tried to call she didn’t answer the phone.

And then the day after that when he tried to call still no answer…

And the day after that the same thing…

No answer.

And that’s how it’s been for the last 2 weeks.

By the way, in the last 2 weeks, he has probably tried to call her about 500 times.

Was she hurt?

Was she dead?

Was there someone else…?

How could things go from so perfectly fine one day to completely gone like she was never there the next?

Well, he wanted my help to find out. He knew I had the capabilities to get shit done out in the free world. Especially through the help of my super amazing Jen!

For those of you who don’t know Jen is super amazing and she really gets shit done for me.

As dude sat with me asking for my help, he told me a little of what his relationship was like with his girl…

How he could only call her when she was on her way home from work because allegedly she lived with her parents and they hated “dude” and allegedly didn’t want her with him.

Red flag number one.

How she had a Facebook page but it was super private and how he wasn’t on it, nor anyone else he knew for that matter. I didn’t fully understand all of this, but maybe she told him it had something to do with her parents not approving of him so that’s why he wasn’t on her page…

Whatever the case…

That was red flag number two.

He also told me how he had heard a bunch of rumors of her being up to no good…

He even heard she might be pregnant too!

Dude told me he was inclined to believe this because she had moved out of state and he hasn’t seen her in over a year…

And in that time, she has refused to send him any “recent” photos.

Red flag! Red flag! Red flag!!

Our conversation ended and I told him I would do what I could to find something out for him. So I called Jen and asked her to look up this allusive girlfriend.

Well, sure as shit, she found her on Facebook and guess what her profile picture is…?

A picture of a newborn baby.

Since her page is private Jen wasn’t able to see much more than that. But she did see that the page was updated 20 hours prior to this picture being posted.

So at least that proved she was still alive.

I got off the phone, and I told dude about finding the page, and how it had been 20 hours since the page had been updated…

Then I told him about the thing that I definitely didn’t want to tell him about…

I told him about the picture of the newborn baby.

He immediately went into denial.

“Oh… “he said. “That’s her friend’s newborn baby.”

“I knew about that.”

So I said “ok”. And I walked away.

Later he came back and told me that he appreciated me finding something out for him and how maybe it was HER baby and how things were starting to make sense now…

How the pieces to the puzzle were starting to fit a little better.

But obviously still in denial, he brought up the “what if” factor…

What if it isn’t her baby.

Well upon further investigation Jen had further in fact proved it was looking more like her baby since she said the background photo on the girlfriends page is of a pregnant belly with pink baby shoes on it.

Yes, I to believe this is her baby. But I really ain’t trying to tell dude about this shit because I hate to be the bearer of bad news.

Plus it’s sort of like the denial and “what it” factor will kind of give this guy some hope… So I just dropped it.

And since then, he hasn’t asked anymore about the situation.

But was dropping it the right thing to do…?

Should I have told him how I was convinced it was her baby…?

What would you have done in a situation like this…?

Let me know.

4 thoughts on “The bearer of bad news

  1. You did everything he asked for you to do, as Josh said. Sounds like he really doesn’t want to believe ill of this girl–in which case, there probably isn’t much you COULD say to convince him. He’ll get it figured out in his own time and his own way. He may even, deep down, already know, and just not be willing quite yet to admit it to himself–sounds like the evidence is pretty overwhelming.

    You did as much as a friend can do, and good on you for it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You did great for him. Just wait for him to ask for your help again in this matter, because if he still is curious, he will definitely ask. Until then enjoy posting 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

