My very first piece of fan mail

Not long ago, I received a letter from a name I didn’t recognize. The letter was post marked from a place I had never received mail from before, and for a brief moment, I was confused about who this was who had written to me.

But, then, and just as quickly, it registered…

This had to be someone writing to me because of my blog.

Just recently I had posted my address on the blog, hoping for exactly this sort of thing to happen.  And sure enough, I knew I had just received my very first piece of fan mail.

A fan of something I had created…

And not just anything I had created either.

But something I had created while locked up in prison.

This was a HUGE moment for me.

I mean, here was this complete stranger who not only took the time to write me, he also took the time to tell me how great he thought Joewriteshiswrongs was and even provided me with some helpful information on how to further what I am trying to do.

This is exactly the sort of thing I had hoped to come from me posting my physical address.

With so much that I have been attempting to do here on Joewriteshiswrongs the two biggest things by far have been to

  1. Show the world that not all who are incarcerated are beyond hope or repair. Some actually do want to create something better for them…even if it takes those “like myself” quite a while to make that happen. And
  2. To entertain all of you through the stories, cartoons, and other stuff that provides more depth to what life is like in prison as well as what life is like FOR a guy in prison who is trying for once to do something positive with himself.

It was getting a letter from a complete stranger who spoke so highly of all I am attempting to do here that made all the hard work just that much more worth it.

What might have seemed a small gesture to the other person was monumental to me.

Thanks a lot E.W.T…

Your words really hit home for me.

If anyone else wants to write me personally, maybe to provide a little encouragement, or maybe to tell me what you like or don’t like here on Joewriteshiswrongs…

Feel free to do so.

Mail is a great thing for a guy locked up.

Fan mail is even better.

If you would like to write me here again is my address.

Joseph P. Guerrero 1195944

I.C.C.C.

P.O. Box 16481

Chesapeake, VA 23328

Leave a Reply

