Music and Me

I mentioned a few different times here how important music is to me and how I am also a rapper…

Yet, I never really have gotten to deep into either of those things.

Well, let me tell you a little about me and music.

Music has always been a big part of my life.

At 13 I started playing guitar that was something I became very passionate about.

By 17, I had a horrible band.

We sucked SO bad!

But the point here is music…

Super important to me…

And! I had a band.

Hey! It doesn’t matter if we were good or not!

By 18, my life reached this sort of tippy point.

Hey “The tipping point!”

That is actually the name of a story I had published in a book!

Don’t know what I am talking about…

Well, then. Check out here for the story and here for the cartoon that went with the story.

Sorry.

I was trying to be clever with all of that.

Anyways.

By 18, I started getting in tons of trouble and started going to jail a LOT.

My whole “having a band and playing guitar dreams” sort of started to die at that point.  But music was still super important to me and I didn’t want to let go of that.

So while in jail and at 18 years old I started rapping.

I started writing raps…

Raps about my life…

And how much it sucked.

Real shit that I was going through and that others could relate to as well. And it was like…

Poof!

Walla, magic!

I found this new way to express myself through music and it was something I became super passionate about.

Want to read the first rap that I ever wrote?

Yup, I still remember it to this day.

Have you ever heard the song “Stan” by Eminem?

Well, what I wrote was inspired by that…

You know, how Stan was written in like letter fashion to someone.

That’s how I did mine.

It was written about this chick who broke my heart at 18 while I was still locked up.

I actually haven’t even spoken to this chick since then.

Still, though.

I will leave her name out of this. You know, that way she can’t sue me if I ever do become rich and famous.

So for the sake of this story, we will just call her instead someone who means absolutely nothing to me at all.

I swear…

We will just call her Kristen Crowley.

So here is the first rap I ever wrote…

Dear Kristen Crowley…

Well I don’t know why I love you, cuz you cause me so much pain/

It’s like I’m losing my mind, I think I am going insane/

I try to maintain, but that seems impossible/

I can’t control these feelings, the pains unstoppable/

And I don’t know why I write you, cause you never write me back/

I tried to call you but that numbers blocked, what’s up with that/

Lately I have been stressing and had a panic attack/

I just want to know how you’re doing, is that too much to ask/

Well you know I really love you, and I probably will forever/

I remember you use to tell me, that we’d always be together/

Well I hope you read this letter, and I hope that you’re okay/

I really need to hear from you, this is Jay…

Tada that’s it…

So, what do you think?

Yeah…?

No..?

Hey it’s ok if you think it sucks. It was my first attempt at rap, it was written a long time ago.

I think I have come a long was since then too.

Now days, when I write, I try to leave an impact crater like a métier strike. On the planet when I let people know what I have to say.

Hopefully I have a similar kind of impact on you as I start incorporating more of my raps here on Joewroteshiswrongs.

From 18 till just recently, the only way I have been able to express myself musically is through rap.

As far as the little bit of my adult life that hasn’t been spent locked up goes- and me perusing anything with my music during THAT time…

I really haven’t done too much.

I mean, I have tried to be serious about a music career, but I just never lasted long enough in the free world to do much with that at all.

I can remember checking out different Myspace pages of people who made beats that I liked at the time and trying to put together songs off of the samples they offered.

I even remember getting on stage during Karaoke one night at the bar and rapping something I wrote to a 2Pac beat.

Other than that, I haven’t done much at all. Until recently, that is…

Maybe within the last year throughout while I have been at this prison, I have been playing around with the band.

Oh by the way…

This prison sucks. But one of the few good things they do have here is a ton of band equipment. And my mural painting job gives me all the perks and benefits of being able to do pretty much whatever the hell I want around here.

Plus, my boss is in charge of all of the band stuff…

Plus, all the band members are friends of mine…

So, it is because of all of this I have been playing guitar again for about the last year.

And what is better than an awesome guy like myself who can rap?

Well, an awesome guy like myself who can rap and also play the guitar at the same time!

So, that is what I have been doing…

Rapping while playing guitar and making up songs about any and everything usually just stupid shit, to make people laugh. But I have also been putting some of my real raps to a guitar melody as well.

So, who knows what the future holds for me musically….

Maybe something.

Maybe nothing.

Whatever the case, I love music.

But I also love a lot of other stuff to…

Like Kristen Crawly.

Don’t have any idea what I am talking about there…?

Well then check out “Eat it or starve”.

Leave a Reply

