Why is it that only horrible cartoons cause a buzz?

There may be times when I am in the midst of a certain topic and that’s really all I’m talking about on the blog. Then something happens that is completely irrelevant to that topic still, I find myself really feeling the need to address it.

This is one of those times.

As a cartoon artist I am always highly intrigued by cartoons that are published and then in turned, cause quit the up rise.

Controversial cartoons always seem to get the most “press”.  Which makes me ask myself this…

“Why in the hell don’t I just make controversial cartoons to get my own stuff ‘out there’ more?”

But no. Even I have certain limits. I always try to keep the line clearly drawn in the sand about things that could be considered too offensive. Even, if at times, it seems like I stray very closely to the edge of that line.

That’s a personal thing though.

I’m not really effected by nor do I mind other cartoon artist especially the more successful and the noun ones who seem to cross over that line a little more than they probably should.

Like I said before, I’m actually very intrigued by those who cross over that line from time to time and the offensive work that is the center of attention when they decide to do so.

This is not because I agree with the view point they depicted. Yo, it really doesn’t even have anything to do with the message the cartoon is conveying. It’s just interesting to see such a cartoon cause such a buzz. Especially when cartoons are such a dead medium in this day and age.

We live in such a fast ever evolving world where something like the third biggest news story as of lately is how much bigger the new iPhone is….

It’s just nice to see a cartoon get some attention every now and then. Even if it is one that is considered by many to be in such poor taste.

As far as the cartoon that is at the center of this controversy… It’s pretty obvious as to what it’s in reference too.

10626676_10203770368991991_183107358249591108_n

Cartoon by Glenn McCoy

Poor choice of cartoon

Shame on Pilot editors who approved the publication of the Sept. 13 editorial cartoon about Ray Rice and his wife.

I had just read that television stations had decided to stop showing the offensive video, so I was stunned to see this newspaper continue to spotlight it. What editorial purpose was served by depicting the victim so hideously?

The same day, a letter to the editor about offensive comic strips was published. The letter-writer said he had to cut the offensive strips from the pages before his granddaughters saw them. I hope his granddaughter didn’t read the editorial page that day, because the editorial cartoon was totally inappropriate (Virginia Pilot Sept. 20, 2014)

One thought on “Why is it that only horrible cartoons cause a buzz?

Leave a Reply

