Another star gone too soon and depression

Today is a day that sort of comes out of nowhere… a day where I wanted to tell all of you about my awesome soccer game, how well I played, how I scored three goals in the first half alone, how I shined and also coached my team to a 5-0 victory. But all of that is irrelevant when the top headline across the nation is so tragic…

Another great actor gone too soon.

Robin Williams.

It is unbelievable to think that such a man, an actor who played so many roles in so many movies is gone.

I grew up watching Robin Williams…

I’m sure many of us did as well.

From Mork and Mindy to Good Morning Vietnam, Aladdin to Mrs. Doubtfire, even last season’s # 1 new comedy The Crazy Ones.

This man was a comic genius.

An immense success.

It’s hard not to admire such a life.

If any comfort can be found in all of this, it should come from knowing that Robin Williams legacy will forever live on.

The news said that Robin Williams had been battling depression for a few years now.

Personally, I know how tough that can be.

Especially while being incarcerated.

Depression is a lot like being in prison too. Your mind confides you to the lowest form of thinking.

Absolute negativity.

Self-esteem becomes diminished.

You become a prisoner to your own self.

That is enough to take a toll on anyone.  Even someone so great who will leave such an impact on this world.

If ever you’re depressed or find yourself becoming your own worst enemy, you must do whatever it takes to break the chains that confined you to that miserable way of thinking.

Talk to someone. If you can’t… then exercise.

If you can’t, then do it anyways.

Force yourself into any form of physical activity and do it until utter exhaustion.

I promise that will help.  Even if only just a little. Though, I truly believe it will help a lot more than that.

Write down all that ales you…

Why are you sad?

Why are you depressed?

What could change that? Write that down too.

Sometimes for me it is simple… Why am I sad?

Because I am in prison.

What could change that?

If I wasn’t in prison.

If there is nothing you can do at the immediate moment to change whatever it is that saddens you, then do whatever you can to make the most of what it is.

Look for whatever you have that is good.

What do you have that is great?

Lean on what good while you also work hard to make life better for yourself. Because in the grand scheme of things…

We will never stop being depressed until we decide we are not going to be depressed anymore.

R.I.P. Robin Williams.

1533829_1420358618214741_1494305298_n

8 thoughts on “Another star gone too soon and depression

Leave a Reply

