Tomorrow is a new day

One of the biggest things I love most about Joe is that he works so hard every day to better himself from his past. He wants nothing more than to show everyone as well as himself that he can find some kind of success either through his artwork, cartoons or writing. Each day he strives to better his life and his work, each day is a day closer he is to becoming a free man, each day he fights to not let that place destroy him.

When I met Joe he was the most positive person I had ever met. I mean here is the guy surrounded by so much negativity and constant chaos and yet he stays so positive and has such great determination. I mean he could have been like the majority of other prisoners and just waste his days away doing nothing waiting for his time to be up so he can go right back out on the streets and live the same lifestyle.

Not Joe, he refuses to go back to that lifestyle…plus I would never let him. He has been incarcerated for 6 years now and he has already had a few cartoons published in magazine/newspapers, he has a story and a cartoon that was published in one of the Chicken Soup books, he is on the mural crew at the prison, so he paints a bunch of murals all over the compound. Not to mention he is always being included in the art and resource fairs there (limited amount of people get to be included in that) he was even the one who they had designed the cover of the pamphlet for a previous resource fair. Not to mention he has had a number of people request for him to do some sort of artwork for them or donated to his page.

As you can see he has really worked hard to turn his life around for the better. I worry for him though because the added stress from that place daily on top of the stress from knowing he comes home next year and besides owing over $13,000 in fees and fines there are the questions of who is going to want to hire a convicted felon let alone one who doesn’t have a drivers license and so on. He tries so hard not to let it show that it all gets to him but I know him better then he thinks.

Right now he is not feeling the whole positive vibes which is why he hasn’t been posting a whole lot. That place has really taken a toll on him and each day is a fight to stay above water but I am always there to talk him through a bad day, let him vent or just remind him that he has made it through 6 years and I won’t let him and I know he won’t let himself give up the last year and a half.

He made the comment yesterday that he has wanted to post something the past couple days and has even wrote a few blogs but then he never posts them because with all the bullshit going on there he finds himself bitching about that place or something and nobody wants to read negative stuff. Well…at the same time nobody is positive 24-7 so he is entitled to have bad days or vent in a blog and get everything out.

I also know holidays are hard for him in there because I’m pretty much the only person he has in his life that gives a damn and even if he doesn’t always show it I know he wants nothing more than to have his family back in his life and give him another chance. I can tell this by how he talks about them and every great once in awhile he talks to his dad and I can tell in his voice and mood that he had a good talk. He knows he pushed them away and was an utter piece of shit as he says but that is not who he is anymore and I know he just wishes they could see he is trying. I don’t know his family, but they look like nice people and I do hope that one day they can all at least try to start over and put the past behind them all. I personally would love to meet his family; I really think they would like me and see that I am good for him as well. 🙂 Maybe in time…

I don’t doubt Joe is gonna do great things, I know he will!  Right now, he is just in a slump and he will pull himself out of it like he always does and come up with more great ideas for his road to success. 🙂

So, he hasn’t forgotten about his awesome readers/followers…after all you guys are part of what keeps him motivated to keep pushing harder.

-Jen (The other half of Joewriteshiswrongs)

 

I hope everyone has a great week and is enjoying the summer…I don’t know about where you all live but here in Virginia it has been 90’s-100 out.

11 thoughts on “Tomorrow is a new day

  1. I think you do a marvellous job of keeping your head above water and not going totally mad in that place Joe. Travelling uphill is always going to be harder than letting go and sliding back down, but remember, you’ve come one hell of a long way, and have the talent, and just as important the positive personality to continue upwards when you get out too. The more you stick to it the more people will follow, and all of those people know you’re more than worth taking a chance on so far as getting a job goes. The internet and your dear lovely lady WILL make all the difference to the future you understandably fear. And I do not use caps usually at all. 🙂 I don’t think it’s a bad idea to write down and post the more negative things that you encounter, for one it’s very good for you mentally to do so, and for two, some writing needs to be serious and people know that, and would want to read about that too. It’s all about how you present the situations, but don’t feel it always has to be humorous when the last thing you feel like is laughing.

    Stay positive.

    – sonmicloud.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Hang in there guys! A lot of people are rooting for you, Joe. Cyber hugs and positive energy to both of you. I’m about to turn in for the night and I’m going to “meditate “/ think positive things for you and your future with all the mental focus I can muster as I fall asleep. It’s not much but it’s all I can do : )

    Peace.

    Like

  3. Life sucks sometimes, it isn’t always unicorns and rainbows. We know that. We wont think less of you for having a bad day. WE all have bad days. You need to write about it and let it out. Don’t bottle it up. Go ahead and post about it, whatever it may me. You dont have to post happiness and art all the time. You don’t have to be funny all the time. You are human with ALL emotions and you can post serious stuff, painful stuff, angry stuff too. Venting is healthy and helps getting over the slump.

    If anything, it will show your readers how hard you are trying, the struggle you are going through. Show them the happiness and positivity you emote through your blog isn’t easy like you make it seem.

    And Jen, you sure are a keeper! I couldn’t help but laugh when i read “plus I would never let him” because I was saying that in my head then boom there it was, you said it.

    Keep your head up guys! I know its hard to see the light at the end of the tunnel sometimes, but it’s there.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 🙂 Thanks girl! Yeah the next day he was saying how he was just gonna look at the positive things in his life because he can’t change the negative so no point in letting it get to him. I totally agree though and am always telling him that if he writes down what he is feeling it will make him feel so much better…helps me. You gave him some great advice 🙂

      Like

  4. I re-blogged this because I had to. I have several loved ones who’ve suffered with bi-polar disorder and paranoid schizophrenia, and am aware of their struggles. Fortunately, none of them have ever been incarcerated in a prison, but under different circumstances they could have been. We live in a culture of fear. Fear of the unknown, the unfamiliar, the unexplained. Silly, really. Look at the increasingly large number of people in the world who suffer from Clinical Depression, or Obsessive Compulsive Disorders – so common! So much a mental illness and yet, we qualify it and say, “Well, it’s not like Bi-Polar or Schizophrenia, that’s different…” It’s not different. It’s what’s become acceptable because it’s so common versus what is still scary and strange.
    The prisons are full of people who need adequate and affordable health care to treat their mental illness. So, are the streets- all over the world.
    I am not naïve enough to believe that it is all society’s fault. I have two good friends, both diagnosed as Bipolar. One takes her meds and lives a “normal”, if less eventful and satisfying, life.
    The other refuses medication because he feels “flat lined” and can’t stand not having the highs (conveniently forgetting the lows which found him in bed for weeks at a time).
    I know that there is individual responsibility.
    I also know that as a global society we don’t want to deal with things we don’t understand, and mental illness is at the top of that list the world over.k
    No, I have not seen the show. Am I glad that it’s on and making people at least THINK about the issue? YES! The dialogue needs to expand, and increase in volume.
    I am thankful for every blog (including this one), every Tweet, every Facebook page, and every article written in Letters to the Editor all over the world that addresses the issues surrounding mental illness. It’s been a long time coming, and we have a LONG way to go.
    Thank you so much for posting this.-Minstrel

    Like

    1. I appreciate your comment and I am glad you found this of interest. You are more than welcomed to re-blog anything you find of interest or enjoy on Joewriteshiswrongs. 🙂 I would have to agree with you when you said that the prisons and streets are full of people who do need adequate and affordable health care.

      Like

  5. Great post. I think that it may be beneficial for you and for your followers to witness some of the challenges you have. In prison or not we all have our struggles and I don’t see why it would be any different for you.
    Your testimony – that includes your positive and negative experiences in your situation has great power to really provide comfort and encouragement to people going through similar stuff. Don’t hold back to much! That one story you don’t share could change someone’s life for the better!
    ML

    Like

Leave a Reply

