Another resource fair offers some hope to the hopeless

Yesterday there was another resource fair here at the prison, this makes two of these events I have been able to attend since being here. As much crap as I talk about my living here, these resource fairs are really a great thing the powers that be provide for us and allow prisoners like myself to attend.

Outside vendors come in from different organizations that help with things such as job placement and training, restoration of rights, and all sorts of other stuff.

All of these people do what they do with these different organizations because they truly want to help people. That fact couldn’t rain any truer especially considering the inclement weather that seemed to coincide right along with this event.

When I say inclement weather, I think a better description would be saying it seemed as if the flood gates were open from heaven.

It poured down rain here. Enough to where multiple surrounding cities were flooded.

Yes, these amazing people still risked the trek to come share the information they had for us on whatever organization they represented.

Truly “selfless” is a great way to describe these folks who took the time to come to a prison in the pouring rain to try and help a bunch of prisoners.

On a complete other note, I was truly self-ish . My motive while attending this event was simply to further my own agenda:

To reach even more people through the work that I do. What I consider a positive way to change a negative situation.  My cartoons… caricatures… my painting…and also my writing. 

Through the entirety of this resource fair, I spoke with four different people from the outside about the work that I do. Mostly about Joewriteshiswrongs, and about the stories that I write and blogs that depict so much of the nitty gritty rawness that has been years of my life incarcerated. These people that I spoke to seemed interested enough to want to check out Joewriteshiswrongs and I really hope that they do.

As I reflect on this event, I must have seemed like quite the narcissist because all I did was talk about myself to these people. In all fairness, I did this in an effort to advocate for guys in prison like myself, who really want something better then what they now have.

What better to advocate with than my own journey and struggle?

So many of these people who attended this event “got it”. I mean, they really got it. They not only understood that people can change, and can attempt to do better, even from prison, they encouraged it as well. There support and encouragement was very motivating.

The many years of my life that I have spent incarcerated have been draining. It is very easy for a situation such as prison to leave one feeling hopeless and lost.

These resource fairs are the one time when those hopeless-lost feelings subside a little giving away to a glimmer of hope.

One thought on “Another resource fair offers some hope to the hopeless

  1. “I must have seemed like quite the narcissist because all I did was talk about myself to these people.”

    “I should not talk so much about myself if there were anybody else whom I knew as well. Unfortunately, I am confined to this theme by the narrowness of my experience.”

    –Walden

    Joe, hang onto that quote.

    Love reading your blog, by the way.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

